Halbrook, McClure Pass Legislation to Honor Local Teens

Route 51 around Assumption will be designated as the “Connor-Keegan Memorial Highway” to honor two teens who tragically lost their lives in 2022. The designation, in remembrance of the lives of Connor Rowcliff and Keegan Virden, was enacted by legislation from State Senator Steve McClure (R-Springfield) and State Representative Brad Halbrook (R-Shelbyville).

“Connor and Keegan touched a lot of lives in their community and are deeply missed by so many,” said Senator McClure. “My hope is that this will honor their memories in a way that will make their family and friends proud.”

“I am gratified by the support we received for remembering these two fine young men who were taken from us far too soon; and I hope the memorial will bring some small comfort to the community,” Representative Halbrook said. 

On July 12, 2022, 16-year-old Conner Rowcliffe and 15-year-old Keegan Virden lost their lives in a car accident in the City of Assumption.

Connor Rowcliff was a 16-year-old junior who played football, basketball, and competed in track. He loved spending time with friends and family, riding four wheelers, and going to the beach.

Keegan Virden was 15 years old and a sophomore at Central A & M. He was active in the Shelby County 4-H program. He enjoyed basketball, hunting, fishing, and spending time with his family.

Keegan was also a member of Mt. Pleasant Church of God. As an organ donor, in death, he was able to help save the lives of 10 other people.

Senate Joint Resolution 29 designates Illinois Route 51, from North 2600 East Road, through Assumption to the Shelby Macon County line as the Conner-Keegan Memorial Highway.

The resolution was adopted by both chambers of the Illinois General Assembly. Signage noting the designation will be erected at a later date by the Illinois Department of Transportation.